Abkhazia: Valeriya Adleyba To Participate in New Wave Junior 2017

Valeriya Adleyba has been announced as a participant in the final of New Wave Junior 2017, which takes place this week.

The young singer from Abkhazia has been invited to take part in New Wave Junior 2017 following her victory this weekend in Ty Super! (You are Super!). The 12 year old singer performed in the final of the show on Friday night which took place at the Kremlin in Moscow, Russia.

Valeriya Adleyba was one of 92 young singers from across the CIS to be brought together to take part in Ty Super!. Ty Super! offered talented children from care homes, foster families and boarding homes the opportunity to showcase their talent. Also given the chance to compete in New Wave Junior 2017 is Evgeny Boytsov from Russia.

Last year Abkhazia made their debut in the competition represented by Milena Bartsits, she however did not managed to make it into the top three of New Wave Junior 2016. In the end Milena finished 9th out of 12 participants scoring a total of 143 points.

New Wave Junior 2017 is being held at the Artek Camp in Crimea from May 31 to June 1. The singers will perform twice during the contest and will perform for a maximum of 2 minutes and 30 seconds. The performances will be judged by a panel made up of international music professionals, they will score on an 11 point system.

Taking part in the contest are:

  • Abkhazia – Valeriya Adleyba
  • Armenia – Anahit Adamyan
  • Belarus – Daniel Yastremskiy
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina –  Amina Bilalbegovic
  • France – Peters Arthur Geraid
  • Germany – Suzan Oseloff
  • Israel – Tali Kuper
  • Kazakhstan – Amina Zhapar
  • Latvia – Katerina Sretenskaya
  • Moldova – Mariya Godorozha
  • Russia – Aleksandr Filin
  • Russia – Arina Petrova
  • Russia – Evgeny Boytsov

Source: Sputnik

New Wave Junior was held for the first time in 2008 and is the children’s version of New Wave. The competition is open to singers under the age of 12 years. Over 30 countries have participated in the contest since it was first held with Ukraine the most successful country in the contest to date. Former winners include Eurovision winners, Gaia Cauchi, Sofia Tarasova and Anastasiya Petryk.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *