AIDF’17: Competing Dance Routines Revealed

The Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union has released videos showing the routines that nine of the eleven countries will be performing.

Ahead of the first edition of the ABU International Dance Festival which takes place this weekend, the performances that will feature at the contest have been revealed. The official YouTube account for the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union has uploaded videos showing previous performances of all of the dance routines that will feature at the competition.

You can watch the playlist of performances, as well as the promotional video for the contest below:

For unknown reasons the routine that will be performed by the Fijian and Afghan participants are not featured, furthermore Malaysia is yet to reveal their participants in the event. The video does however reveal the names of the performance from the Maldives. The countries participating and the dances they will perform are as follows:

  • Afghanistan – (Unknown style of performance) – Traditional (RTA)
  • Azerbaijan – Uzundara – Traditional (ITV)
  • Fiji – Meke – Traditional (FBC)
  • India – Chaitanya – Contemporary (DD)
  • India – Andaz-e- Raqs – Traditional (DD)
  • Indonesia – Kabaret Baliano – Contemporary (RRI)
  • Indonesia – Bala Turangga – Traditional (RRI)
  • Indonesia – Tari Saman – Traditional (TVRI)
  • Malaysia – To be announced
  • Maldives – Bodu Beru – Traditional (PSM)
  • Philippines – Sarimanok – Contemporary (CTC)
  • Philippines – Singkil – Traditional (CTC)
  • Uzbekistan – Lezgi – Traditional (MTRK)

The schedule for the contest is as follows:

  • 13 January – Delegations and groups are to arrive in Hyderabad, welcome dinner by the Telengana Government
  • 14 January – Technical rehearsals for all of the participating groups, full run through in the evening with the presenters
  • 15 January – Final run through will occur if dancers wish. Contest will take place in the evening.

The rules for the festival are as follows:

  • Two dances can be submitted per country, one for the traditional dance (showcase/non-competitive) and one for the contemporary dance (competitive).
  • Each performance may last no longer than 8 minutes.
  • Each performance may feature between 2 and 8 people
  • Participants must be aged between 18 and 25 years old at the time of the event.

Source: ABU

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *