The first ABU TV Song Festival

More details have been revealed by SBS about their plans for the Asian version of the Eurovision Song Contest.

In an interview on ABC Radio the Head of Content for SBS, Helen Kellie explained more about what she hopes for the contest in 2017. She stated their aim is to take all of the excitement of Eurovision; the big stage, big performers and mix that with Asian twist to make it truly our own. She explained that while Australia had participated in the ABU TV Song Festival the difference lies in Eurovision being a contest and take the celebration and competitive spirit into the new contest.

Mrs Kellie when asked about working with Asian countries on the contest said that the idea is to work with broadcasters all across the region to develop the concept so that it works for Asia. She wants Asia to be able to own the concept but still embrace what works at Eurovision. Regarding countries that will be eligible to compete, SBS says that they are looking at countries from India and east to the Pacific Islands. The contest would not exceed 20 countries as it would “become unmanageable as a show”. As it stands the contest is planned to take place sometime during 2017.

Regarding who would be eligible to compete, based upon the SBS plan the following nations are eligible:

  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • East Timor
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Fiji
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • North Korea
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Thailand
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam

Source: ABC