Colombia, Cuba & Mexico To Participate in Slavianski Bazaar 2017

Three more countries have confirmed their participation in Slavianski Bazaar 2017 in Vibetsk, Belarus this July.

The countries participation was confirmed by Alberto Loreydis Perez Zamora who is the Head of Delegation for Cuba and South America. Cuba has participated in the contest since 2010 with interest in the competition within South America growing annually. In total 30 singers from five countries attended auditions to take part in this years competition.

To date the singers from Colombia and Mexico have been announced, while the singer from Cuba in the International Pop Song Performers contest has not yet been announced. Representing Colombia this year is Asael Cuesta Cardona, while Mexico is represented by Donatella Pella. Mr Zamora also revealed that Cuba is making their debut in the Children’s Contest represented by Erik Hernandez Gonzalez.

The best result for a participant from the Americas came in 2014 when Rodrigo de la Cadena won the competition for Mexico. He narrowly beat off competition from the Moldovan singer Vitaly Negrutsa to take victory in Belarus.

The following countries have selected their entrants so far:

  • Bulgaria
  • Belarus
  • Colombia
  • Cuba
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Romania
  • Ukraine

Source: Slavianski Bazaar

Slavianski Bazaar has been held annually in Vibetsk, Belarus since 1992. The event consists of two competitive contests, the International Pop Song Performers Contest for singers age 18 to 31, and the Children’s Contest for those age between 7 and 12. The competition is popular in the former Soviet Union, Baltic States and the Balkans. Winners include Ruslana, Zeljko Joksimovic, Donny Montell and Alyona Lanskaya. The Children’s Contest has been held since 2003 and former winners include singers who have gone on to compete in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. This includes former winner Ksenia Sitnik who won for Belarus in 2005.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *