Eight countries have confirmed their participation in the ABU International Dance Festival 2017 in Hyderabad, India.

It has been confirmed that a minimum of eight countries will be participating in the first edition of the ABU International Dance Festival in Hyderabad, India. The ABU International Dance Festival is the first time that the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union has organised a competitive dance event for the region. The contest is being held on January 15 will be held at Shilapaka Vedika auditorium. Just over 2,000 people will be in the hall to watch the contest take place live to an audience across the Asia-Pacific region.

Confirmed as participating in the first edition of the ABU International Dance Festival are:

  • Afghanistan (RTA)
  • China (CCTV)
  • India (DD)
  • Maldives (PSM)
  • Mongolia (MNB)
  • Sri Lanka (MTV)
  • Turkmenistan (TVTM)
  • Uzbekistan (MTRK)

A further two countries are still in discussions about participating in the contest, these are Indonesia who hosted the ABU TV Song Festival 2016 and South Korea who held the inaugural editions of both the ABU TV Song Festival and ABU Radio Song Festival in 2012.

The schedule for the contest is as follows:

  • 13 January – Delegations and groups are to arrive in Hyderabad, welcome dinner by the Telengana Government
  • 14 January – Technical rehearsals for all of the participating groups, full run through in the evening with the presenters
  • 15 January – Final run through will occur if dancers wish. Contest will take place in the evening.

The rules for the festival are as follows:

  • Two dances can be submitted per country, one for the traditional dance (showcase/non-competitive) and one for the contemporary dance (competitive).
  • Each performance may last no longer than 8 minutes.
  • Each performance may feature between 2 and 8 people
  • Participants must be aged between 18 and 25 years old at the time of the event.

Those interested in attending the event are required to fill in a form here.

Source: AIDF