Eurovision Asia: ABU Membership Not A Requirement To Participate

Following reports that ABU membership would be required to compete in Eurovision Asia, Blink TV has confirmed that they are open to all networks.

Blink TV, the production company behind the Eurovision Asia Song Contest, has confirmed that membership of the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union is not required for a country to compete in Eurovision Asia. Reports over the past two weeks had incorrectly linked Eurovision Asia with the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union, leading to the belief that ABU membership would be required to compete in the contest.

A spokesperson for Blink TV said in a statement that:

We are keen to engage and involve countries from across the Asian region, and their content platforms, be they commercial or government organisations.

The confirmation means that both national broadcasters as well as private television channels are able to take part in the contest. This is unlike the Eurovision Song Contest, in which all competing countries are represented by a public broadcaster who is a member or associate member of the European Broadcasting Union.

Blink TV’s clarification of the situation opens the contest up to countries such as Taiwan, Tajikistan, Kuwait and Oman.

The Eurovision Asia Song Contest which was announced in March 2016 is expected to see around 20 countries compete in the Asian spin-off of the 61-year-old Eurovision Song Contest which is held annually in Europe. The contest would be the first time that a Eurovision spin-off has been successfully held outside of Europe. Previously the EBU has sold the rights to the contest in Asiathe Arab World and is looking at a US contest.

The three cities that have expressed a serious interest in hosting are:

  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • Sydney, Australia

The following countries have also either confirmed their participation or shown an interest in participating:

  • Australia (Confirmed)
  • China (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • Japan (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • New Zealand (Interest in participating)
  • Solomon Islands (Interest in participating)
  • South Korea (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • Vanuatu (Interest in participating)

Source: Wiwibloggs

1 reply on “ Eurovision Asia: ABU Membership Not A Requirement To Participate ”
Leave a Reply to beccaboo1212 Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *