Eurovision Asia Officially Launched

Eurovision Asia has been launched today, as the Eurovision Song Contest makes it way across the globe.

The contests official website has been launched today, with now live. Specific dates for the competition are yet to be announced, nor have the countries competing in the event been named. Fans of the contest are being invited to suggest artists, songwriters and music styles that they would like to see at the competition. While also being asked who they think could win the first ever Eurovision Asia Song Contest.

In an interview with ESC Insight in May, Mr Clarke who is the Head of the Eurovision Asia Song Contest, has revealed that three cities across Asia are interested in hosting the first contest. The Eurovision Asia Song Contest which is expected to take place for the first time in 2018, will be the Asian version of the 61 year-old Eurovision Song Contest.

The three cities that have expressed a serious interest in hosting are:

  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • Sydney, Australia

The following countries have also either confirmed their participation or shown an interest in participating:

  • Australia (Confirmed)
  • China (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • Japan (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • South Korea (Possible Steering Group Member)

The contest which was announced in March 2016 is expected to see around 20 countries compete in the Asian spin-off of the 61-year-old Eurovision Song Contest which is held annually in Europe. The contest would be the first time that a Eurovision spin-off has been successfully held outside of Europe. Previously the EBU has sold the rights to the contest in Asiathe Arab World and is looking at a US contest.

The contest is expected to go in direct competition with the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union backed contest the “ABU Asia-Pacific Song Contest”. The contest is being produced by Hunan Television alongside the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union. Details about the first contest have however not been revealed despite it being stated as being held for the first time in 2017.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *