Eurovision Asia: Up To 20 Countries Can Compete

New details revealed
New details revealed

New details have emerged about the first edition of the Eurovision Song Contest for the Asia-Pacific.

The contest now appears to have a formal name the “Eurovision Asia Song Contest”. The name appears multiple times in an advertisement for a junior production manager for the contest. Up to this point there has been no formal name for the contest revealed by the organisers, with the project going by a number of titles varying from Asiavision to Asia Eurovision.

The job advertisement also shows the organisers of the event have become more ambitious in how many countries could compete in the first contest. At the Eurovision Song Contest 2016 in Stockholm it was confirmed by Paul Clarke who is one of the developers of the contest, that 12 countries would be the aim for competing countries. Organisers are now aiming for between 12 and 20 countries competing in the first contest.

The following countries have either confirmed their participation or shown an interest:

  • Australia (Confirmed)
  • China
  • Japan
  • South Korea

The first contest is planned to be held in the first half of 2017.

Source: TVCV

8 replies on “ Eurovision Asia: Up To 20 Countries Can Compete ”
  1. Hehehe!!!. very nice news. It seems that they have already reched the goal of 12 competing countries. I hope to see the definitive list of participants soon!!!.

  2. EURO Asia Song Contest? Euro is the abbreviation of Europe xD So I hope the name will be AsiaVision Song Contest 🙂

  3. Asia has more than 40 countries, so Asiavision Song Contest would be participated up to 40 countries. With 40 countries, Asiavision Song Contest would be more diverse due to use of national languages and each country’s culture itself. Asiavision Song Contest must become the pioneering Eastern origin international entertainment event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *