Doordarshan, the Indian public service broadcaster, has been revealed as the host broadcaster for the ABU International Dance Festival 2019.

Ms Supriya Sahu the Vice President of the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union has revealed that India wil host the ABU International Dance Festival 2019. Doordarshan has once again been selected as the host broadcasters for the festival, having staged the first edition of the ABU International Dance Festival in January 2017.

The rules for the first ABU International Dance Festival were as follows:

  • Two dances can be submitted per country, one for the traditional dance (showcase/non-competitive) and one for the contemporary dance (competitive).
  • Each performance may last no longer than 8 minutes.
  • Each performance may feature between 2 and 8 people
  • Participants must be aged between 18 and 25 years old at the time of the event.

The first ABU International Dance Festival was held in Hyderabad, with nine countries participating in the first event. The countries and broadcasters that participated in the event were as follows:

  • Afghanistan – RTA
  • Azerbaijan – iTV
  • Fiji – FBC
  • India – Doordarshan
  • Indonesia – RRI
  • Indonesia – TVRi
  • Malaysia – ASTRO
  • Maldives – PSM
  • Philippines – CTC
  • Uzbekistan – MTRK

Before the festival took place a number of countries that had confirmed their participation withdrew from the event. They were;

  • China
  • Mongolia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Turkmenistan
  • Vietnam

No details regarding the date of the festival or the host city of the event have been revealed to date.

Source: ABU