New Wave Junior 2017 Participants Announced

The participants in New Wave Junior 2017 have been announced, with singers from ten countries competing this year.

The auditions round for New Wave Junior 2017 were held over the weekend in Moscow, with eleven singers being selected to compete in this years competition. This years competition sees the debut of France and Bosnia & Herzegovina. While withdrawing from the contest are Abkhazia, Kyrgyzstan, Malta, South Korea, Romania and Ukraine.

Competing at this years contest in Artkek, Crimea are:

  1. Armenia – Anahit Adamyan
  2. Belarus – Daniel Yastremskiy
  3. Bosnia & Herzegovina –  Amina Bilalbegovic
  4. France – Peters Arthur Geraid
  5. Germany – Suzan Oseloff
  6. Israel – Tali Kuper
  7. Kazakhstan – Amina Zhapar
  8. Latvia – Katerina Sretenskaya
  9. Moldova – Mariya Godorozha
  10. Russia – Aleksandr Filin
  11. Russia – Arina Petrova

Fans of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will recognise the Armenian singer, Anahit Adamyan. Anahit represented Armenia at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016 in Malta alongside Mary, they finished second in the final.

The lack of a Ukrainian singer in the competition will be a blow to the contest. Ukraine is the most successful country in its history having won the contest six times and having had 28 singers compete since it was first held in 2008. Malta is also a notable absence, having won the contest only two years ago with Gaia Cauchi.

New Wave Junior 2017 is being held at the Artek Camp in Crimea from May 31 to June 1. The singers will perform twice during the contest and will perform for a maximum of 2 minutes and 30 seconds. The performances will be judged by a panel made up of international music professionals, they will score on an 11 point system.

Source: New Wave Junior

New Wave Junior was held for the first time in 2008 and is the children’s version of New Wave. The competition is open to singers under the age of 12 years. Over 30 countries have participated in the contest since it was first held with Ukraine the most successful country in the contest to date. Former winners include Eurovision winners, Gaia Cauchi, Sofia Tarasova and Anastasiya Petryk.
2 replies on “ New Wave Junior 2017 Participants Announced ”
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *