New Wave’17: All Fifteen Finalists Announced

The fifteen singers from ten countries competing in the final of New Wave 2017 this summer in Sochi, Russia have been named.

The organisers of New Wave 2017 have officially announced the fifteen acts from across the globe who will be competing in this years contest. Singers from the United States and Vietnam are among the acts who will be competing in one of the biggest musical events within Eastern Europe in Sochi, Russia. Returning nations to this years contest are; Armenia, Romania, Sweden, Vietnam, the United States and Uzbekistan.

Competing in the contest are:

  • Armenia – Syuzanna Melqonyan
  • Armenia – Erna Mirzoyan
  • Kazakhstan – Rustem Zhugunussov
  • Moldova – DoReDoS
  • Romania – Katya Rishe
  • Russia – Lusia Chebotina
  • Russia – Khatl Khatl
  • Russia – Sasha Santa
  • Russia – Stas Danshin
  • Russia – Vasily Urievskiy
  • Sweden – Pahmp
  • Vietnam – Lien Le Luu
  • Ukraine – ISAAK
  • United States – Michelangelo Mejia
  • Uzbekistan – Sardor Milano

Of note is one of the two artists representing Armenia, Syuzanna Melqonyan who finished third in the Armenian national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. She was selected by Inga who represented Armenia at the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest to be part of her team.

While Vietnam will be a nation to watch. They are making only their second appearance in the contest however in 2013 when they last competed they went on to finish third in the competition. Vinh Khuat scored a total of 354 points, just three points behind the winner from Cuba.

Source: New Wave

New Wave was first held in 2002 in Jurmala, Latvia. The contest which is held over three days is open to singers age between 16 and 35 years old. The competition is incredibly popular within Eastern Europe with up and coming performers taking to the stage alongside well known guests from across the region. The contest has been a launching point for many careers including Intars Busulis, Natalia Gordienko and Jamala the winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2016.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *