Poland: Olga Shimanskaya Focused on Turkvision

Olga Shimanskaya has ruled out another attempt at participating in the Eurovision Song Contest, stating her focus is now on Turkvision.

Olga Shimanskaya who will represent Poland at the Turkvision Song Contest 2017 has ruled out another attempt next year at representing Belarus at the Eurovision Song Contest. The singer who performs under the name NAPOLI, has attempted four times to represent Belarus at the Eurovision Song Contest. The singer in a recent interview commented,

If after four years I did not manage to get a ticket to “Eurovision”, it means that something is missing. What exactly? We’ll figure out.

For the next few months the focus of Olga Shimanskaya is on her preparations for the Turkvision Song Contest 2017 in Astana, Kazakhstan. She will be representing Poland on their debut in the competition with the song “Masal gibi bu dunya” which translates as “This world is like a tale”.

Despite her not competing in next years Eurovision selection Olga remains hopeful that Belarus has singers capable of representing the country. She does however feel that a Belarusian victory at Eurovision is a long way off, with the country needing to work closer with European experts to think about a top ten result.

A total of fourteen nations and regions have confirmed that they will be participating in the Turkvision Song Contest 2017 this August. This includes six debuting nations, they are; Latvia, Sweden, Moldova, Stavropol Krai, the Netherlands and Poland. Returning to the contest this year alongside Tatarstan are Crimea and Bashkortostan.

The list of confirmed participating countries and nations are:

  • Bashkortostan (Russian Federation)
  • Belarus
  • Crimea (Disputed territory)
  • Gagauzia (Moldova)
  • Germany
  • Kazakhstan – Host nation
  • Latvia
  • Moldova
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Stavropol Krai (Russian Federation)
  • Sweden
  • Tatarstan (Russian Federation)
  • Ukraine

Source: SB

The Turkvision Song Contest was first held in 2013 in the Turkish city of Eskisehir. The contest which is open to Turkic nations and regions such as Turkey, Kazakhstan and Yakutia. The contest follows a similar format to the Eurovision Song Contest, with songs limited to being 4 minutes long. To date Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan have won the contest.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *