Romania: Confirms Their Participation in Turkvision 2017

Alpha Media TV the Romanian broadcaster responsible for the country’s participation in the Turkvision Song Contest has confirmed their participation.

Romania will be competing in the 4th edition of the Turkvision Song Contest this September in Astana, Kazakhstan. Alpha Media TV confirmed to Eurovoix World that they will be participating in this years contest in Kazakhstan, it is expected that Sunai Giolacai. Sunai was selected in a televised selection on November 13, he was selected by a jury made up of former Turkvision participants and local music professionals.

The broadcaster also confirmed their intention to participate in Bala Turkvision 2017. In November 2016, Alessya Duran Selma was selected to represent the country at last years contest which did not take place. She beat off competition from seven other participants to be selected by a jury to compete in the Children’s version of the Turkvision Song Contest.

A total of fourteen nations and regions have confirmed that they will be participating in the Turkvision Song Contest 2017. This includes six debuting nations, they are; Latvia, Sweden, Moldova, Stavropol Krai, the Netherlands and Poland. While in the Bala Turkvision Song Contest three countries have now confirmed their participation, they are Romania, Belarus and Ukraine.

The list of confirmed participating countries and nations are:

  • Bashkortostan (Russian Federation)
  • Belarus
  • Crimea (Disputed territory)
  • Gagauzia (Moldova)
  • Germany
  • Kazakhstan – Host nation
  • Latvia
  • Moldova
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Stavropol Krai (Russian Federation)
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine

Source: Alpha Media TV

The Turkvision Song Contest was first held in 2013 in the Turkish city of Eskisehir. The contest which is open to Turkic nations and regions such as Turkey, Kazakhstan and Yakutia. The contest follows a similar format to the Eurovision Song Contest, with songs limited to being 4 minutes long. To date Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan have won the contest.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *