Slavianski Bazaar’17: Russia-1 & RTR Planeta To Broadcast Opening Ceremony

The Opening Ceremony for the 26th edition of Slavianski Bazaar will be broadcast across Russia by the national broadcaster Russia-1.

The Opening Ceremony is being on delay in Russia by both Russia-1 and RTR Planeta internationally from 23:30 Moscow time. This is not the first time that Russia-1 and RTR Planeta have broadcast Slavianski Bazaar in Russia, in 2016, 2014 and 2013 the opening and closing ceremony were also broadcast.

In previous years the broadcaster has also shown the final of the International Pop Song Performers Contest. It is not known if Russia-1 will be broadcasting the contest this year. Viewers are able to watch all aspects of this years contest via the Belarusian national broadcaster on Belarus 3 and Belarus 24. Belarus 3 is broadcast domestically and online, while Belarus 24 is available in the CIS region as well as Latvia, Lithuania and Poland.

The schedule for the competition is as folllows:

  • July 12 – 18:00 CET – Opening day of the Children’s Contest
  • July 13 – 18:00 CET – Final of the Children’s Contest
  • July 14 – 18:00 CET – Gala concert and the Award’s Ceremony for the Children’s Contest
  • July 15 – 18:00 CET – Semi-Final of the International Pop Song Performers Contest
  • July 15 – 21:00 CET – First night of the final for the International Pop Song Performers Contest
  • July 16 – 21:00 CET – Final night of the International Pop Song Performers Contest


Slavianski Bazaar has been held annually in Vibetsk, Belarus since 1992. The event consists of two competitive contests, the International Pop Song Performers Contest for singers age 18 to 31, and the Children’s Contest for those age between 7 and 12. The competition is popular in the former Soviet Union, Baltic States and the Balkans. Winners include Ruslana, Zeljko Joksimovic, Donny Montell and Alyona Lanskaya. The Children’s Contest has been held since 2003 and former winners include singers who have gone on to compete in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. This includes former winner Ksenia Sitnik who won for Belarus in 2005.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *