Sweden: Debuts At The Turkvision Song Contest 2017

Sweden has been confirmed as debuting at the Turkvision Song Contest 2017 in Astana, Kazakhstan represented by Arghavan.

Arghavan is an Ambassador for UN Women in Sweden and has dedicated her life as an advocate for freedom of expression and human rights worldwide. Arghavan was born in Iran but moved to Sweden at the age of three during a turbulent period in the country. She is a highly acclaimed artist, author, and singer.

At the contest in Astana, Kazakhstan she will be performing the song Dircalis (Remedy) is a strong pop ballad with oriental influences composed by Ylva and Linda Persson. The song is to be performed in Azerbaijani. Ylva and Linda Persson who successfully competed in national selections to
Eurovision Song Contest with over 25 songs in 14 countries. They have collaborated with the musician
Johan Moberg, the producer Will Taylor and lyricist Elvin Novruzov.

A total of fourteen nations and regions have confirmed that they will be participating in the Turkvision Song Contest 2017. This includes six debuting nations, they are; Latvia, Sweden, Moldova, Stavropol Krai, the Netherlands and Poland. Returning to the contest this year alongside Tatarstan are Crimea and Bashkortostan.

The list of confirmed participating countries and nations are:

  • Bashkortostan (Russian Federation)
  • Belarus
  • Crimea (Disputed territory)
  • Gagauzia (Moldova)
  • Germany
  • Kazakhstan – Host nation
  • Latvia
  • Moldova
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Stavropol Krai (Russian Federation)
  • Sweden
  • Tatarstan (Russian Federation)
  • Ukraine

Source: Ylva & Linda

The Turkvision Song Contest was first held in 2013 in the Turkish city of Eskisehir. The contest which is open to Turkic nations and regions such as Turkey, Kazakhstan and Yakutia. The contest follows a similar format to the Eurovision Song Contest, with songs limited to being 4 minutes long. To date Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan have won the contest.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *