Tatarstan: Confirms Participation in Turkvision Song Contest 2016

The Head of TMT Maidan the broadcaster responsible for Tatarstan’s participation in the Turkvision Song Contest, has confirmed they will compete in 2016.

The Head of TMT Maidan, the broadcaster responsible for the Republic of Tatarstan’s participation in the Turkvision Song Contest, has stated that they will participate in this years contest in Turkey. Mr Davletshin had previously informed that they were ready to participate in the contest once more details were confirmed to the broadcaster.

In 2015 Tatarstan was due to participate in the Turkvision Song Contest but was forced to withdraw due to a deterioration in relations between Russia and Turkey. The region of the Russian Federation had selected Yamle Group to represent them in Istanbul. The group had won an incredibly tight national selection where Yamle Group had tied with Ilnar Miranov, the two hopefuls were invited to perform once again for the jury who selected Yamle Group.

Tatarstan debuted in the Turkvision Song Contest in 2013 alongside 24 other countries and regions. At the contest in Turkey they were represented by Alina Shiripzanova with the song “Ãœpkälämim”, she finished 4th in the final with 202 points. In 2014 Tatarstan hosted the contest in Kazan, they were represented by Aydar Suleymanov with the song “Atlar Chaba”, he won the semi final but in the final was beat by Zhanar Dugalova of Kazakhstan.

Confirmed as participating in this years contest are:

  • Azerbaijan – Sevinc Beyaz
  • Bashkortostan – Zilija Bakhtieva
  • Belarus – Svetlana Agarval
  • Crimea (Russia) - Alseda Seydaliyeva
  • Gagauzia – Yulia Arnaut
  • Germany – Seyran
  • Kazakhstan
  • Khakassia (Russia) – Irenek Khan
  • Kumyk (Russia)
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia – Oksana Bilera - YakiÅŸiyor bize bu sevgi
  • The Netherlands – Elcan - Ana vatan
  • Northern Cyprus
  • Romania - Sunai Giolacai
  • Sandzak (Serbia)
  • Sweden – Arghavan – DirçəliÅŸ
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine – Natalia Papazoglo
  • Yakutia (Russia)
The Turkvision Song Contest was first held in 2013 in the Turkish city of Eskisehir. The contest which is open to Turkic nations and regions such as Turkey, Kazakhstan and Yakutia. The contest follows a similar format to the Eurovision Song Contest, with songs limited to being 4 minutes long. To date Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan have won the contest.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *