Tatarstan: Confirms Participation in Turkvision Song Contest 2017

The Republic of Tatarstan has become the 15th nation/region to confirm their participation in the Turkvision Song Contest 2017.

The Republic of Tatarstan in Russia will be competing in the 4th edition of the Turkvision Song Contest this September in Astana, Kazakhstan. Maidan TV confirmed to Eurovoix World that they will be participating in this years contest in Kazakhstan, represented by the group Yamle.

Yamle Group were selected to represent Tatarstan at the Turkvision Song Contest 2015, having won the regions national selection. However due to a deterioration in relations between the Russian Federation and Turkey, the Russian republics were forced to withdraw from the contest. The song that the group will be performing this September in the Kazakh capital has not yet been announced.

Tatarstan debuted in the Turkvision Song Contest in 2013 alongside 24 other countries and regions. At the contest in Turkey they were represented by Alina Shiripzanova, she finished 4th in the final with 202 points. In 2014 Tatarstan hosted the contest in Kazan, they were represented by Aydar Suleymanov with the song “Atlar Chaba”, he won the semi final but in the final was beat by Zhanar Dugalova of Kazakhstan.

A total of fourteen nations and regions have confirmed that they will be participating in the Turkvision Song Contest 2017. This includes six debuting nations, they are; Latvia, Sweden, Moldova, Stavropol Krai, the Netherlands and Poland. Returning to the contest this year alongside Tatarstan are Crimea and Bashkortostan.

The list of confirmed participating countries and nations are:

  • Bashkortostan (Russian Federation)
  • Belarus
  • Crimea (Disputed territory)
  • Gagauzia (Moldova)
  • Germany
  • Kazakhstan – Host nation
  • Latvia
  • Moldova
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Stavropol Krai (Russian Federation)
  • Sweden
  • Tatarstan (Russian Federation)
  • Ukraine

Source: TMT Maidan

The Turkvision Song Contest was first held in 2013 in the Turkish city of Eskisehir. The contest which is open to Turkic nations and regions such as Turkey, Kazakhstan and Yakutia. The contest follows a similar format to the Eurovision Song Contest, with songs limited to being 4 minutes long. To date Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan have won the contest.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *