Tonight: Final of the International Pop Song Performers Contest – Slavianski Bazaar 2017

Fifteen singers are left in contest as the first night of the final takes place in Vitebsk as the 26th International Pop Song Performers Contest continue in Belarus.

From twenty-one singers, just fifteen singers are now left in the competition. Knocked out of the contest last night were the representatives of Armenia, Estonia, Latvia, Macedonia, Moldova, the Netherlands. Today all of the participants will perform a pop song by a composer from a Slavonic country and in any Slavonic language with the accompaniment of live orchestra. Their performance will be scored by a panel of judges. Each judge will allocate the performers between 5 to 10 points based on their performance. The judges scores will be combined to create an overall score for the first night.

On the jury for this years contest are:

  • Depsa (Italy) – Composer and writer
  • Felix Livshitz (Israel) – Opera singer and producer
  • Filip Zmaher (Serbia) – Honoured Artist of Serbia, winning of the competition in 1995
  • Gleb Matveychuk (Russia) – Actor, singer and composer
  • Kevin McCoy (United States) – Singer and composer
  • Vladislav Baginsky (Ukraine) – Music producer at the Ukrainian national broadcaster
  • Yadviga Poplavska (Belarus) – People’s Artist of Belarus
  • Yordanka Hristova (Bulgaria) – Honoured Artist of Bulgaria

The running order for contest tonight is:

  1. Croatia – Nina Kraljić
  2. Kazakhstan – Ayree
  3. Belarus – Egor Sharankov
  4. Uzbekistan – Rishat Kamal
  5. Georgia – Keta Tsverava
  6. Ukraine – Vlad Sytnik
  7. Poland – Uliasha
  8. Malta – Janice Mangion
  9. Mexico – Donatella Pelayo Rodriguez
  10. Colombia – Asael Cuesta
  11. Lithuania – Paulina Paulauskaite
  12. Italy – Walter Ricci
  13. Bulgaria – Nikola Chochev
  14. Russia – Liliya Veltman
  15. Serbia – Nevena Bozović

Watch the first night of the final live on Belarus 1 and Belarus 24 here from 21:00 CET.

To find out more about Slavianski Bazaar and the contest stay up to date via TwitterFacebook and on the website.

Slavianski Bazaar has been held annually in Vibetsk, Belarus since 1992. The event consists of two competitive contests, the International Pop Song Performers Contest for singers age 18 to 31, and the Children’s Contest for those age between 7 and 12. The competition is popular in the former Soviet Union, Baltic States and the Balkans. Winners include Ruslana, Zeljko Joksimovic, Donny Montell and Alyona Lanskaya. The Children’s Contest has been held since 2003 and former winners include singers who have gone on to compete in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. This includes former winner Ksenia Sitnik who won for Belarus in 2005.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *