Tonight: Semi-Final of the International Pop Song Performers Contest – Slavianski Bazaar 2017

Twenty-one singers take to the stage tonight in Vitebsk as the 26th International Pop Song Performers Contest begins in Belarus.

Twenty-one singers from across the world will be competing tonight in Vitebsk, Belarus as the International Pop Song Performers Contest at Slavianski Bazaar 2017 gets underway. The singers tonight are competing for just fifteen places in the final, with the judges deciding which six singers will not progress any further in the competition.

Today will see the performers taking to the stage with a song from their country. The song must be in the language of their country and written by a composer from that country. Their performance will be scored by a panel of judges. Each judge will allocate the performers between 5 to 10 points based on their performance. The judges scores will be combined to create an overall score for the first night.

On the jury for this years contest are:

  • Depsa (Italy) – Composer and writer
  • Felix Livshitz (Israel) – Opera singer and producer
  • Filip Zmaher (Serbia) – Honoured Artist of Serbia, winning of the competition in 1995
  • Gleb Matveychuk (Russia) – Actor, singer and composer
  • Kevin McCoy (United States) – Singer and composer
  • Vladislav Baginsky (Ukraine) – Music producer at the Ukrainian national broadcaster
  • Yadviga Poplavska (Belarus) – People’s Artist of Belarus
  • Yordanka Hristova (Bulgaria) – Honoured Artist of Bulgaria

The running order for the semi-final is as follows:

  1. Uzbekistan – Rishat Kamal
  2. Russia – Lucien Sur
  3. Ukraine – Vlad Sytnik
  4. Estonia – Nika
  5. Poland – Uliasha
  6. Moldova – Daniel Schwetz
  7. Macedonia – Stefan Manasievic
  8. Kazakhstan – Ayree
  9. Netherlands – Dennis Smit
  10. Armenia – Arman Mesropyan
  11. Serbia – Nevena Bozović
  12. Lithuania – Paulina Paulauskaite
  13. Croatia – Nina Kraljić
  14. Belarus – Egor Sharankov
  15. Malta – Janice Mangion
  16. Colombia – Asael Cuesta
  17. Latvia – Sabina Berezina
  18. Mexico – Donatella Pelayo Rodriguez
  19. Georgia – Keta Tsverava
  20. Bulgaria – Nikola Chochev
  21. Italy – Walter Ricci

Tonight’s Semi-Final is not being broadcast live, the show will be broadcast on delay on Saturday via Belarus 3 from 18:00 CET.

To find out more about Slavianski Bazaar and the build up to the contest stay up to date via TwitterFacebook and on the website.

Slavianski Bazaar has been held annually in Vibetsk, Belarus since 1992. The event consists of two competitive contests, the International Pop Song Performers Contest for singers age 18 to 31, and the Children’s Contest for those age between 7 and 12. The competition is popular in the former Soviet Union, Baltic States and the Balkans. Winners include Ruslana, Zeljko Joksimovic, Donny Montell and Alyona Lanskaya. The Children’s Contest has been held since 2003 and former winners include singers who have gone on to compete in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. This includes former winner Ksenia Sitnik who won for Belarus in 2005.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *