Turkvision’16: Contest Reported To Be Held Between December 14 & 18

It has been reported that the Turkvision Song Contest 2016 will be held between December 14 and December 18 in Istanbul, Turkey.

According to our sources this years contest will once again be held in Istanbul, Turkey. The singer adds that the contest is being held between the 14th and the 18th of December. These dates indicate that for the first time ever the contest may have two semi finals and a final.

The reports state that the contest will be held in Istanbul is one of a number of contradicting reports over the past few months over where the contest is being held. In September it was reported by Gagauz media that this years contest would be held in the Turkish Capital, Ankara. This followed an announcement in July in the Ukrainian press that Istanbul would be hosting for a second year. At the start of October it was reported in the Turkish press that Antalya would be hosting the contest.

According to sources it is expected that the details for this years contest will be officially confirmed by the organisers. This years contest is thought to have been significantly affected by the turmoil in Turkey, meaning that this years event is running significantly behind schedule compared to previous years.

Currently the following broadcasters and delegations have stated their intention to compete in Turkvizyon 2016 to Eurovoix-World:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Bashkortostan (Russian Federation)
  • Belarus
  • Crimea (Russian Federation)
  • Gagauzia
  • Germany
  • Kazakhstan
  • Khakassia (Russian Federation)
  • Kumyk (Russian Federation)
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Netherlands
  • Northern Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Sandzak (Serbia)
  • Stavropol Krai (Russian Federation)
  • Sweden
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Yakutia (Russian Federation)
The Turkvision Song Contest was first held in 2013 in the Turkish city of Eskisehir. The contest which is open to Turkic nations and regions such as Turkey, Kazakhstan and Yakutia. The contest follows a similar format to the Eurovision Song Contest, with songs limited to being 4 minutes long. To date Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan have won the contest.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *