Turkvision’17: Contest Venue & Dates Changed

The venue for the fourth edition of the Turkvision Song Contest this September in Astana, Kazakhstan has been changed by the organisers.

Both the venue and the dates of the Turkvision Song Contest have been changed from previously announced information. According to the official website of EXPO 2017, the contest will not be held in Barys Arena (Astana Ice Palace), with the contest moved to the smaller Kazakhstan Central Concert Hall.

The Concert Hall was opened on 15 December, 2009 by the President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev. The hall took five years to build and cost a total of 120 Million Euros to construct. The Concert Hall consists of three different halls of 200, 400 and 3,500 seats. It is expected that the contest will be held in the main hall, which costs a total of 7,250 Euros per day to hire.

Alongside the change in venue the dates of the contest have also been changed. According to EXPO 2017 the contest will be held over the space of nine days between September 1 and September 9. Based on the dates announced it is likely that the new schedule for the contest will be as follows:

  • Semi Final 1 – Tuesday September 5
  • Semi Final 2 – Thursday September 7
  • Final – Saturday September 9

No details have yet been announced about the dates for the Bala Turkvision Song Contest 2017. To date Belarus and Ukraine have confirmed they will be competing in the contest.

To date 13 countries and regions have confirmed they will be participating in Astana, they are:

  • Bashkortostan (Russian Federation)
  • Belarus
  • Crimea (Disputed territory)
  • Gagauzia (Moldova)
  • Germany
  • Kazakhstan – Host nation
  • Latvia
  • Moldova
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Stavropol Krai (Russian Federation)
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine

Source: EXPO 2017, Kazakhstan Central Concert Hall

The Turkvision Song Contest was first held in 2013 in the Turkish city of Eskisehir. The contest which is open to Turkic nations and regions such as Turkey, Kazakhstan and Yakutia. The contest follows a similar format to the Eurovision Song Contest, with songs limited to being 4 minutes long. To date Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan have won the contest.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *