Vanuatu: TBV Wishes To Compete in Eurovision Asia

TBV (Television Blong Vanuatu) is the latest broadcaster to reveal that they wish to compete in the Eurovision Asia Song Contest.

Television Blong Vanuatu has revealed to escXtra that they are interested in participating in the Eurovision Asia Song Contest. TBV is the television channel operated by the Vanuatu Broadcasting and Television Corporation and was setup in 1993 with assistance from Radio France Overseas.The channel broadcasts for five hours each day in both French and English.

Vanuatu gains its independence from France and the United Kingdom in 1980 and is home to just over 286,000 people. The country lies 1,750km off the coast of Northern Australia and is bordered by the island nations of New Caledonia, the Solomon Islands and Fiji.

The country has previously taken part in the ABU Radio Song Festival. In 2012 the country took part in the first edition of the ABU Radio Song Festival. They were represented by Sammy Ray Jones with the song “Rinet”, they received the Bronze Award from the jury, placing them 4th in the contest. Participation in the festival was not organised by the Vanuatu Broadcasting and Television Corporation, but instead by the Australia Broadcasting Corporation.

The Eurovision Asia Song Contest which was announced in March 2016 is expected to see around 20 countries compete in the Asian spin-off of the 61-year-old Eurovision Song Contest which is held annually in Europe. The contest would be the first time that a Eurovision spin-off has been successfully held outside of Europe. Previously the EBU has sold the rights to the contest in Asiathe Arab World and is looking at a US contest.

he three cities that have expressed a serious interest in hosting are:

  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • Sydney, Australia

The following countries have also either confirmed their participation or shown an interest in participating:

  • Australia (Confirmed)
  • China (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • Japan (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • New Zealand (Interest in participating)
  • Solomon Islands (Interest in participating)
  • South Korea (Possible Steering Group Member)
  • Vanuatu (Interest in participating)

Source: escXtra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *